RSS Feed

Like Jesus Does

Posted on

IMAG0036

Determined to improve my last Pinterest inspired project, I decided to think of an original statement to paint hoping for a more passionate effort this time around. Influenced by the Bible verse John 13:34, I wanted to remind myself, and others, the importance of striving to love one another the way Jesus does. I faced a few trials and tribulations during the time it took to complete this craft, usually sending me into a depressive or angered state, but every time I was reminded to forgive others, disregard the way they treated me, and continue to love them like Jesus would.

IMAG0020

This time around I penciled my design on the canvas first. Creating a guide made letter spacing and placement so much easier! By shopping at my local craft store, using a coupon and choosing sale items, I was able to spend $20 on supplies needed for my next two projects. I added a “morning blue” to the color scheme and a border that would be embellished. Looking back on things I preferred the design before adding the glitter, suggesting that sometimes maybe less is more. I used Elmer’s glue again, but came to the conclusion that a glue pen is best when embellishing.

IMAG0025 IMAG0029 IMAG0031

I thought a lot about what I would write in this post. Although the main focus is crafting, I felt a strong urge to share the personal growth gained by genuinely investing time, passion and love into my hobbies. I have surely been blessed with a healthy, positive way to work past the mental, behavioral, and emotional issues I have battled for years This project will always hold a special place in my heart and with it now on public display I pray it serves as a reminder for all Christians to practice what we preach.

A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.” John 13:34 (KJV)

About Danika

Part-time blogger, Full-time Nerd

Leave a Reply

